Morning in Montego Bay

Last morning on board ship and over breakfast out on deck I get talking to Del, and her husband Graham, both octogenarians from Wales.
 
Yesterday on Grand Cayman they swam in the sea. Now Graham, age 86,
Is wobbly on his feet.
 
"How did you manage? “
There was a strong undertow and a steep descent into the water. I know because I went in.
 
" Well, I was determined to swim in the Caribbean, it was my last chance," said Del, aged 82.
Graham said nothing.
 
" But how did you get out?"
Del laughed and winked.
" I knew someone would come and rescue us."
 
Sure enough a young American woman saw them struggling and shouted, “I’m coming in to get you."
And she walked into the sea fully clothed and dragged them out.
" I have elderly parents so I know how you must feel."
 
Now I don't know whether to be full of admiration for their gung-ho attitude or shocked at their irresponsible behaviour.
 
But hey! once you are in your 80s what have you got to lose?

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.