For MissWinterFinch

Last weeks "Holy Monday" Blip brought a comment from MissWinterFinch so had to Blip the Lutheran Protestant Church of St Peter and Paul in Erkheim.

There was a church on this site in 1167 and the church in the photo was built in 1433, reroofed 1803 and a general restoration in 1954.


On Wiki there is a German description and much nicer photos. Mine was an emergency. It was snowing like crazy (can't see it on the photos), my camera battery had died, so quickly snapped it with the mobile and will revisit the Blip another day.

I must have been watching the wrong weather forecast last night. I don't remember anything other than "chance of snow showers". It snowed all day! I had snow blowed for a good 90 minutes in the morning thinking it would stop. Set off with the dogs as I needed something from Erkheim. As we left the house, it really started coming down and visibilty was down to about 100m. The roads were covered and in Erkheim watched the odd BMW struggling. Always used to say Mercedes & BMW need to have two bags of cement in the boot (US-trunk) to weigh down the rear drive axle.

Walk was OK, keeping to roads/tracks that had probably been ploughed on Saturday. Then in to Erkheim center to get the Blip. As many towns, they don't seem to grit so the local roads were a pure 2cm thick ice rink.

Back home when I went out to do the evening horse stables even I was "shocked" with how much had come down. Realised I had to snow blow again so quickly started on doing the bedding first and luckily at that moment Angie drove up. She had abandoned her Monday gym session as the roads were beginning to get bad and no sign of a plough.

So she did the horses and I set off with the blower. Angie's cars front spoiler had nicely leveled the snow! Had I not cleared in the morning she wouldn't have managed to get in. She Bliped me at work.

Good two hours later came in and now getting even further behind on comments and doing the Blip rounds. Getting critical and the taxman deadline is getting ever nearer and the pile of paper is not getting smaller. Sorry!!!!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.