Day at a Time

By Tweedy

Braco Castle ...

The original Braco Castle was a 16th century tower house and the estate was originally owned by the Bishops of Dunblane. Now its 19th century landscaped gardens are open from 1st Feb under the Scotland's Gardens Scheme.

I'd planned a visit there to see the snowdrops as a treat after an hour at the dental clinic I go to in Auchterarder. The first thing I saw was a red squirrel so that was a treat in itself. Unfortunately the snowdrops were still buried in the snow. The gardens are really lovely though, and I saw some snowdrops and some cheery aconites. I'll go back in a few weeks (more dentist) and see what's what.

The photograph is of a pond fed by a small burn which forms part of the garden to the side of the castle.

Worth a visit if you're in the area: http://www.scotlandsgardens.org/gardens/garden/ff2594f6-9a4b-4cab-b986-99a500ba552f

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.