horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Water, the theme of the day

The day had been going so well until I got home...

Obviously I managed to get a shot (and more than just one) of the Water Rail I was hoping to see. I've only seen one once before, hidden and flighty, as they usually are (though I think we saw one fleeing on Sunday), but this wee guy, and I hadn't realised how small they were, was gorgeous and obliging. Must go back when there's better light, and hope he's still there.

This was after a lunchtime coffee with Ken, and before tap class, so you see the day had been going well.

Arriving home, seeing My father-in-law's car outside made me wonder what was going on, then I walked the bike past the kitchen door and saw the water. Appears that our boiler has exploded. Or at least a pipe somewhere in it has, and the kitchen was underwater when Mel got home from work. Most things have been dried out, but I can't get an engineer (despite the Homecare being fully paid up, and us having no central heating or hot water) till between midday and 6 tomorrow. Sigh. At least we have a gas fire... I then, to round things off, went and dropped a couple of Denby pasta bowls, in a colour pattern they don't make anymore, shattering them across the floor.

The day had been going so well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.