Religious Imagery

Today we caught the bus to Mdina which is a walled city that used to be the capital of the island. It is perfectly preserved and full of little alleyways and ancient buildings. But before we spent the afternoon wandering round Mdina we explored one or two sites in neighbouring Rabat - the catacombs of St Paul, the Roman Villa and the newly opened Wignacourt Collegiate Museum which houses a whole variety of ecclesiastical artefacts which come from churches all over Malta. In a roomful of wooden carvings I found this statue which I guess is representation of Mary Magdelene holding the crucified Christ prior to his resurrection. I thought it was rather effective though I have not been able to isolate entirely from the surrounding carvings. Malta seems to be full of religious imagery which I guess gets a marmite response from tourists, either you like it or you don't. I can cope with small amounts but am in danger if getting 'overload'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.