Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Splish-splash, taking a bath...

The line from a song, which no doubt dates me.  

I wonder if I am the only one who is absolutely charmed by watching birds bath?  They do it so enthusiastically and with such complete abandon.  It never fails to make me feel happy when I see one splashing around, water flying everywhere.  This is a pied-billed grebe, one of a pair that frequents the settling pond at Largo Nature Preserve.  As the bath was coming to an end, this one raised it's breast out of the water, which is what you see here.  

I also stopped at Seminole to check on the heron and osprey nests.  The heron "tree" has at least 3 nests, two fairly visible, although very high up in the tree.  At least two nests are already being brooded while a third is being guarded - probably the eggs aren't all laid yet.  I think the osprey have eggs in their nest based on the fact that one of them is always in the nest now.  While I stood and watched, the second osprey flew in with a fish for his mate.  

I posted six other shots from today on Flickr, starting HERE with a flying moorhen.  Not too often you see moorhens or coots take to the air...and with good reason.  Not the best flyers...

Lots of packing activity this morning - hubs and I have made a good dent in it and feeling that we've earned a glass of wine.  Dinner tonight is quinoa with veggies, feta and a lemon vinaigrette. Light and tasty.

I think my cold was actually allergies - now that the rain has moved out, I feel fine!

Toodles,

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.