On Thin Ice

We had snow overnight, so everywhere looked lovely this morning. The bird feeders have been decimated during today, mainly by the starlings, who think that it's reasonable to take great mouthfuls and spray the seeds all over the garden. 
I have mixed feelings about these birds, as they have a tendency to bully the smaller birds  off the feeders. I may have to resort to putting half the seed in one of my caged feeders, which prevents the larger birds from getting in. 
My walk with the dogs this evening was made extra special with the sighting of 4 deer, catching the last of the sun's rays, sitting under a hedge. They allowed me to get quite close (I'd tied the dogs to a branch) before they took off over the field. 
Fionne thought that she could run across a large flooded area in a field and discovered for the first time, what ice is! It was so comical to watch her and she didn't mind going back across to retrieve another piece of wood. 
Thank you so much for all the kind comments, hearts and stars for yesterday's plump robin. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.