Not every day

By ppatrick

The visionary gleam

A mountain pansy (Viola lutea) flowering early, not in the mountain but in Crummack Dale south-east of Ingleborough. Supposedly the flower that Wordsworth referred to in Ode: Intimations of Immortality from Recollections of Early Childhood (almost certainly his finest poem, imho):
The Pansy at my feet
Doth the same tale repeat
Whither is fled the visionary gleam?
Where is it now, the glory and the dream?


Where is the cartilage that used to be in my knees, was my more prosaic reflection. Intimations of fucking mortality, more like.

I can't begin to count the plant varieties in this square. On this walk I saw/heard plover, curlew, lark, rabbit (including what I think was a black rabbit), wheatear, dipper. And a heck of a lot of sheep. Up there they're so clean (see blipfolio).

More here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.