Not every day

By ppatrick

Who knows where the time goes?

I first met T in 1977. He was aged four and living in a residential nursery, having been removed from home because of neglect which had already damaged him. I was his new social worker, aged 26. After a few years, longer than I would have liked, we found him a foster home. We hoped they would adopt him; they did not, but they did give him a secure base until he reached adulthood. He is now married and he and A have their own home. Both are supported by various services, and T has his ups and downs, but in general his life is I think a good one. I ceased to be his social worker when he was 18, having kept the relationship through a series of job moves, and we have stayed in touch since - via birthday and Christmas cards until the last few years, when texting and Facebook brought us into closer contact again.

This week T posted on Facebook "91 Days Until I'm 40 Years Old Where's All The Time Gone". That brought to mind the words in the title of this blip, and the song of the same name, sung so beautifully by Sandy Denny on Fairport Convention's Unhalfbricking (one of the first albums I bought, which I still have) and also in the solo version here. The CD pictured is The North Star Grassman and The Ravens, produced by Richard Thompson (who I finally saw with G in Bristol three years ago). Sandy died, maybe tragically is the right word for once, far too young in 1978.

The composition is my response to Peopletwitcher's challenge. I'm sorry that so many other fine contributions have fallen foul of the rules. I hope this one won't. It does include that terrible thing, a photograph, but as background rather than foreground. It's a polyfoto, taken on my (his?) first birthday. I don't know what happened to this delightful little boy. Back then it all seemed so promising....

The other link here is Oxfordshire, where Terry has lived all his life, I much of mine, where I met ceridwen and our sons were born, and which is still Fairport's base. Five years ago theit annual Cropredy festival (in August, coinciding with H and G's shared birthday) was devoted to a replay of the album Liege and Lief by the reunited band, except of course for Sandy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.