keithyboy

By keithyboy

Wanaka

After an extremely long nap of around 5 or 6 hours, I woke up at 3.30am. Wide awake with nothing to do, I waited for Nomi to wake up and took her to work for 5.30. After that, making plans was necessary to keep me out of mischief, the petrol station was the obvious first choice as it has quite good coffee and it is open, being open is very important at 5.30. The car also needed some oil to keep going as it was showing less than the low level on the dipstick. 

Wanaka and Adam's new bakery were the next stop. Taking the long way round because the clutch seems a bit broken, I was able to see amazing skies glowing red and orange as rain poured down for the entire journey. Adam and Eve's bakery and bar (to give it the full title) is a cracking little place, Adam has big plans for it and I see no reason why not given the quality of his food. He has changed a few things from the recipes he developed for Fergbaker and boy do they work. I ended up spending a small fortune for things to bring back to Nomi. Adam and I had a good catch up and I finally got him to make me a coffee after over 2 years of things being the other way around.

Just before I left his bakery, the sun started to pop through so I took a trip to the tree, joined the queue of photographers trying to capture its awesome setting. The strong breeze made it virtually impossible to catch the tree perfectly still, none of my shots have come out crisp and it is was the same for the others I spoke to. Still, the colours look fantastic in all the shots and there's one I really quite like and you can find it here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.