a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Crime Scene

I walked past Bristol's floating nightclub "The Thekla" today, to find the whole area cordoned off as a crime scene.  It appears that early this morning a man was pulled out of the floating harbour, following emergency calls to the police by passers by.  Fortunately the man is alive, although in a critical condition.  The temperature in Bristol this morning would have been around freezing and life expectancy in water that cold is not long.

As my camera was with me I took this photo of the scene.  I've been troubled by the process and the morality involved in taking it and posting it ever since.  I can't put my finger on quite why I feel troubled - I think its probably the voyeuristic nature of the thing that unsettles me.  

Clearly I don't have what it takes to be a photo journalist.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.