Denzil's occasional Blips

By denzilblount

To Kill a Mockingbird (365 mono #166)

With news that Harper Lee is about to publish her second novel 55 years after the publication of bestselling "To Kill a Mockingbird", it seemed fitting that this should be the theme of my Blip this evening.

Also featuring in this Blip is an out-of-focus copy of John Steinbeck's "Of Mice and Men".  Strangely, before I heard the news of Harper Lee's second book, I was searching for something different to read to the boys at bedtime.  I read a little of "The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime" to them last night, but wasn't sure that they would understand the narrator's perspective (although I did explain to some extent and they were certainly interested).  I also toyed with reading "To Kill and Mockingbird" before deciding upon "Of Mice and Men" as the new bedtime story.  They have really taken to the characters already.

As an aside, I remember the class reading this in English Literature at school and choking back the tears at the sad bit.  That was bad enough, but then we had to watch a TV adaptation.  I was dreading the end and showing myself up in front of everybody by breaking down in floods of tears.  I was a sensitive soul!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.