The Chaikins of Bellingham

I completely changed my photograph. Thanks to all who commented on the first one. I realized I needed to post the today version of the big moment. So here it is. I'll leave the words that went with my old photograph and add this one for the challenge.

Here is the big moment, our wedding on February 25, 1990.

Part of the challenge is to answer what I know now that I didn't when we first got together but wished I did. One thing I wished I knew then that I do now is how important it is to record memories. When we moved in together in 1978 I did not take a photo or make a special entry into any diary or journal. I don't even remember the exact date. So when I was doing this "big moment" challenge I had to choose our wedding. And moving together in some ways was even bigger. 

I also wish I knew then that you gain mastery by doing something consistently and that it really doesn't matter what other people think. I was too impatient then and just didn't get how much repeating and practicing slowly builds into deep knowledge. And I worried too much about what others thought and was too hard on myself. I did know that Arvin was my soul mate and that has not changed over the years. I didn't know but now do that our love would keep growing and deepening over the years. We are the perfect pair and are now on a road that may lead to a very difficult time but is so far illuminated by our constant and deep love.

My brother Dave took this photo this evening with my Panasonic FZ1000. He is borrowing that camera because he is thinking of getting one himself. Thanks Dave. Below is what I had originally written for today's blip.

Today was the 99th anniversary of the Bellingham Music Club. It began as a women's club at Western Washington University. You had to audition to get in the club. Much as changed since then. Now the club is open to men and women and there is more emphasis on supporting classical music in the community than on making it. 

Today the performance was by the winners of the high school paino and vocal awards. I am always blown away by how good the kids are these days. They were all fantastic and it was a pleasure listening to them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.