Dancersend

By Dancersend

Complexity from simplicity

I was stuck at home for most of the day, waiting for a delivery, so I did a lot of sorting and tidying and filing and throwing out. Whilst clearing out a cupboard I came across some paper packaging material that I had saved some time ago because I was so intrigued by it. This is a single sheet of recycled paper with a regular pattern of simple slits cut into it. When it is crumpled slightly it provides some protection around objects, rather like bubble-wrap.

I just dropped it on the floor today, on a growing pile of stuff intended for the recycling bin, then noticed what amazing patterns had formed because the surface was now folded and catching the light in a really striking way. I was playing some music by Terry Reilly and John Adams at the time and it struck me that here was the perfect visual equivalent of their gloriously intoxicating minimalism - simple patterns, twisted and folded slightly to produce stunning complexity and beauty.

Needless to say, after this revelation I didn't throw the sheet of paper away!! I think it may embody some of the secrets of the universe...so it's been pushed back into the cupboard.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.