But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

The Picture Frame..

There was a stage in our matrimonial bliss when Mrs TD would venture forth amongst the junk shops of the big city and fritter my hard earned shekels on second hand picture frames, ("They might come in useful some day.") The fact that they often  contained pictures was irrelevant at the time of purchase but, occasionally, as in this instance, I would take command of the situation and use my right of veto - insisting that the picture and frame remain together and be put on display.

Knowing absolutely nothing about the subjects of the picture, either who they might have been, or in which part of the World they lived, we can let our imagination loose and no-one can argue. I visualise these two young girls as visiting their rather terrifying maiden great aunt and being forced to sit for a family photograph. The aunt, is one of those ladies who didn't approve of small children and, in particular, didn’t approve of the method by which they were created ("Having read the text, 'And the rib, which the LORD God had taken from man, made he a woman,' I would have advised the Good LORD to continue the procreation of man after this fashion.")

From my memories, my grandmother was just such a woman, though she obviously fell off the pedestal on one occasion.

All that apart, I find this picture and frame to be a wonderful statement of the way the World once was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.