But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Playing With ISO.

This week’s exercise is to learn about ISO, and for the first time I disagree (a little) with the tutor. She told us that there is no ISO Priority setting on a camera, whereas, the Programme Mode serves that function admirably; I  won’t voice a criticism though - for, as I have previously stated, the course isn’t aimed at me. While I am aware of P Mode and high ISOs, I’ve never before been tempted to use them. It was, nevertheless, an interesting experience; I had never realized just how bad the noise is at ISO 12800, and I do like a little more control over the camera than the P Mode offers. The extra was at ISO 200, with the camera choosing 1/3s at f:5.2, the depth of field was so narrow that the texture of most of the  paper is lost. So there was a purpose served and a lesson learned.
 
I had intended a much more interesting composition, and foresaw no problems with the execution; however, when the time came, the materials that were to hand would not bend to my will, so I’ll have to return to the drawing board for that one; it may be useful in the future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.