misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

winter morning with sun

View through the window toward the front deck with sunshine bouncing off the snow. The high of +14ºF (-12ºC) had already been reached. Tonight  it could be -12ºF (-23º) ! Amazing!!
All the trails in the snow that you see are made by the night time deer marching through and check out the birdfeeders.
People are already talking about the next big snow that is expected on Sunday. 


The mailman will not deliver mail if he cannot reach a mailbox from his car; He drives up, opens his window and stuffs mail in. he only has to get out of his car if there are boxes to deliver. Well, the snow is so high or has been ploughed covering mailboxes, so he does not deliver that mail. he puts a green slip in the box saying that until the snow his removed away from the box he will not put mail in. [You may not have missed the fact that he was able to put the green slip in.] 
The first winter I lived here this happened to me.
While Dick was once again digging out my driveway this morning and carefully moving the snow away from my box the mailman drove up. The people across the street have their mailbox totally buried under the snow from the way the plough moves it and of course the depth.
The mailman chuckled and said he's not delivering a lot of mail right nowadays.  What is especially annoying is that we cannot pick up the mail from our local village  post office but those missing their mail must drive to the central sorting post office 10 miles away.  I wonder what those who do not have cars do? 
Anyway, that is quite a motivation to shovel the snow away from the mailbox at the street before the mailman drives up.
Perhaps I should have made today's blip of the neighbour's buried mailbox? But that would have required my dressing in layers and going outdoors. Even though the temperature was 14º above zero with the windchill all day being outside was painful at times.
I wonder if I can finally say I am getting tired of winter. I know my good neighbour Dick can say that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.