GO AWAY!!

First time back down on the edge of Kawau Bay for some days. A couple of hours after high tide on a mostly overcast and windy day. Plenty of gulls and not a few oyster catchers. Lots o ducks which head out into the bay at the slightest sign of a human being; even a benign running photographer. 

On my way back from Algies Bay via Fidelis Beach to Southend, Snells Beach, I looked to see if there was a kotare in a particular tree where I had seen one a year ago. Yes; I know that may have been pure chance. Well, it wasn't as there was a kotare there. And I was able to get three or four photos before it flew off to sit in a tree part way up the cliff.

I then decided to take a photo of it up there as well. Turned away after doing so. Heard a screech, and was abruptly aware of the kotare mere inches above my head, and circling around to head back up to its higher perch. Over my startlement, I decided to take another photo, before turning away again. Whereupon I was once more strafed.

Not as unexpected, that time. nevertheless. it still caused me to jump inside, and my attempt at catching it in flight back up the cliff face was a mere blur of speed. With a large and very sharp looking bill. The next time I decided to keep watching.

When it launched itself for a third pass at me, I managed this one photo. (I'm not orientated towards using the motor shutter function). Everything was still on auto, and the bird travels very fast. Focus is therefore less than perfect, even with a relatively fast shutter speed.

I then left the scene, not wishing to upset this brave bird which was obviously protecting nest or chick or something.

I have done a slight amount of tweaking to decrease the shadowy aspects, and a minor crop to lessen the irrelevancies on the periphery. 

The kotare (kingfisher) is the 36th bird I have seen, identified, and photographed so far this year

I have just noticed that the February Challenge lists "walk" for today. Particularly when I was going out into the shallows after a kawau paka (Little Shag) and the toreapango (Variable Oystercatchers) I walked as well as ran this afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.