Breakfast

It was before my breakfast. I was out on a run in time to get to Whisper Cove before the sun rose above Kawau Island. As the sun started appearing above the island, I saw two large birds in one of the big pools on the tidal flats. I thought they were Canadian geese (my first thought of title was Canadian sunrise, but I thought would just confuse). I got close enough to confirm that. I like the presence of the birds as an accessory to a photo of the sunrise (the challenge for today is accessory).

Visited by friends for lunch and lots of talking. Politics did feature almost as much as grandchildren. I remembered that I had meant to read an article in yesterday's paper by Professor Jane Kelsey about the Trans Pacific Partnership Agreement (TPPA). When they had gone I read it. Frustrated. Angry. Powerless. Our Government has agreed to not allow the people of NZ to know what they are signing us up for. We know the guts of it from what has filtered out, and it is a loss of sovereignty. Our laws (at least on economic and trade matters) will be made by the US Senate. It is past time to object most vociferously.

This evening I went down to the water's edge as the tide was coming in. I saw a kawaupaka (Little Shag) swimming and diving, and thought it might be feeding. Started to take photos as I walked through the water to get closer. As it happened, the very first photo caught the bird with a rather large flatfish in its beak, and the second had just the last bit of the fish tail showing. 

I wondered about that photo for my blip (and the tentative title of dinner suggested this title), and decided there is more hope for the future in this sunrise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.