Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Gun Salute

The wife needed to go into the centre of Cardiff to collect an online order, and as we crossed The River Taff bridge we could hear loud bangs. Getting closer to the castle we could smell gunpowder.

She continued to Bravissimo whilst I used my pass to get in the castle to see what was going on. I 'somehow' managed to get myself next to the Commanding Officer taking the salute and copped a nice photo of the para regiment paying tribute.

It was a 21 gun salute to Queen Elizabeth 2nd on her 63rd anniversary of her Accession to the throne. It was 6 Feb 1952, the date of her father King George V1 death.

Wales and playing England at rugby in the capitol tonight. I was pleasantly surprised how quiet it was. After meeting the wife, who'd managed to buy another bag, we went back to the Castle to have a cuppa. I love sitting and looking at Cardiff Castle Keep. Probably the best place in Cardiff to enjoy a break.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.