Hidden Aberdeen

Today I discovered this wall in the centre of Aberdeen. It contains two gates and at least one doorway. There are also a couple of slits, reminiscent of arrow slits. The wall looks quite old, and the gates seem to lead nowhere of consequence. The larger gate looks as though it might have given access to some quite impressive garden or residence.

Maybe somebody will know something about this reminder of old Aberdeen. It is to be found in Shiprow next to the Maritime Museum. I suspect the larger gate, and possibly the rest of the wall, might have had something to do with the church that has now been incorporated into the Museum, maybe to a manse or garden. Perhaps I should have gone into the Museum to ask.

It cannot be the first time I have seen this piece of wall, but it is the first time I have noticed it. It caught my attention today as I noticed it shows some signs of past elegance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.