Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Another 'holiday' for Archie...

I thought my sore ankle was fine this morning, though I milked it and lay abed while Archie went for his walk with JR. But once I was up walking around, it got sore again. Mind you, I managed some kindling chopping while they were out for their second longer midday walk.

Then in the afternoon, we took Archie to stay with his new dog sitter - just a trial run for one night. She has her own dog, but he's not as friendly as Alfie - in fact, he sat on HIS sofa and growled at Archie when wee Arch came too near. He must be used to visiting dogs taking over his home... Hope they get used to each other...

When we left Archie (yelping at the door) we walked up the road to a well known cafe that we've been meaning to try for ages - but it was closed in the afternoons! I took some photos of this odd little statue - and there seemed to be a lot of wheeling and dealing going on with the folk around. Not sure what was being wheeled and dealed.

My ankle was a bit sore, so we then opted to drive to a pub with parking. We had as a very good lunch, with the bonus of rice pudding, which I cannot resist. I have a burnt tongue, due to my enthusiastic gobbling. I never learn.

K texted us twice saying Archie was settling in. We're home now, and the place is strange without him. We've always gone away as well when he's on his holidays...

On the way past the doctor's I popped (hobbled) in - the X-ray showed no crack/fracture, which is good news. So why is it sore? The doc said 'No dog walking ' but I presume that means 'No unnecessary walking '... For a while? It's a bit of a puzzle. I may go and see him again on Monday if it's still sore.

The place is quiet without the wee man snuffling and sighing and flopping on my lap, pinning me to the sofa. Though I will be pinned to the sofa anyway...

Six Nations starts tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.