Old Friends

"A friend is someone who understands your past, believes in your future, and accepts you just the way you are." - unknown

One advantage of growing older is that you have lived long enough to have "old friends".  Peter fits that category perfectly as he now has white hair and I have known him since 1966.  With one thing and another, we haven't seen each other since before Dad moved from London to Chelmsford in 2011.  To be together this evening was a joy not least because to be as comfortable as if it was only yesterday is a testimony to our childhood affection. To see him was also to step out of my melancholy for a while and be with someone who knows the 'old' me as well as this one.   

We went to the F&R where the landlord greeted me warmly - which shows how often I go there when in Essex.  Running out of views of the place to Blip and I think I have eaten my way through the entire vegetarian menu now, several times over,  but they do keep their ale well and always a warm and friendly place to be with a friend.  

"Friendship is the inexpressible comfort of feeling safe with a person, having neither to weigh thoughts nor measure words."
- George Eliot

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.