The Poss

By PossMan

Inverness Railway Platform

This morning went into town (quite unusual for me) and walked along Longman Road which is a very busy stretch of dual carriageway and not at all pleasant. But one of those places I drive along often but if you catch sight of something out of the corner of your eye you can't stop. Took shots of the college or our new university (UHI - University of Highlands and Islands) before it leaves for a new site where they are now breaking the ground. And Baird's Maltings - which I think would be really fascinating for anyone who gets inside the boundary fence. Then down Henderson Road and round the harbour. This shot was taken from the bridge over the railway. I was intending to do a wide shot which would take in the line from the north and show the lines to Aberdeen and Perth swinging round to left and the line to the station swinging round to the right. But this solitary girl almost at the very end of the platform (so close to the end that the station itself is out of shot to right of frame) changed my mind. She's got a flock of seagull admirers round her. Made me think her mother must have packed the wrong sort of sandwiches so she was discreetly getting rid of them out of sight of anybody. Or perhaps I'm just being unfairly cynical about seagulls.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.