creative lenna

By creativelenna

that big, little moment

I went and looked through my ancient photos, the ones on the external hard drive to find this photo of me and crazy steve from November of 2004. This was when we drove to New York from CT to visit our longtime friends Garth and Nora and tell them in person the news that we were getting married -wow! To celebrate this news, Garth took some photos of us while we were standing in his shop. We later used them for a "save the date" card. When I saw this challenge, first I thought of our wedding, but then I remembered that feeling of sharing our incredible news on this day with our dear friends. 

Garth & I met at summer camp when I was 14 and he was 15. Garth is my oldest friend. He met Steve (and also my ex-husband John) at the high school they all attended. I met Steve through Garth when I was 15 and I did not know Steve had a crush on me! All 4 of us were friends and we even shared a house together in our early 20's. I was married to John by then. 

As Garth said in our wedding toast, Time goes on, people meet, people go . . . and John left me after 27 years. I was talking to Garth after I was legally separated and he let it slip that Steve was divorced. For 3 years now, and I did not know! Of course I called Steve up as I thought he might have some advice for me, and the rest as they say, is history. 

You can see more photos of our wedding, our family, and read the story we wrote for our wedding program on my website. We married some 7 months after this photo was taken, which was 3 or 4 weeks after we started talking! It was a whirlwind romance, but a true romance, one that was meant to be. It just took some time to happen! We were 48 and 49 when we married. Steve & I are both very stubborn and get in trouble with each other sometimes, but not for long! We want to be together, work at it and we are a great match! 

xo love you, crazy steve!!
The 2015 follow-up photo of us for this challenge is here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.