Yawn - another sunset. Only two to go........

Sorry. I know. Another sunset. However, this is our penultimate penultimate night in Ao Nang, and it really is too good to miss. It's also from a different beach. Where we are here faces west to the Andaman Sea, so it's perfectly situated for sunsets. We took a motorbike/sidecar thingy (different to a tuk-tuk) to get to this location for tonight's sunset. 
Wednesday we fly to Bangkok and then on to Chiang Mai to meet up with our family. I saw the BBC news on my tablet yesterday, and heard for the first time about the air crash in Taipei City. The river that the plane crashed into is only minutes from where our son and his family live - seconds by plane. It doesn't bear thinking about.
I'd just like to mention the tattoos here. I've nothing against them. Sorry, they don't do anything for me, and i don't find them offensive, but they're just not for me. The tattoos here though are the largest and darkest that I've ever seen - and virtually every westerner has them, covering most parts of visible flesh. It's not often that you see an Asian person heavily tattooed. The signs here say that you have a choice of needle or bamboo. That's enough to make me start to shake! And they are so DARK. Nothing dainty, just masses of dark blue or red ink. Maybe it was the influence of my Granddad that  put me off them. He had smallish (by today's standards) tattoos on each arm. He said that in the First World War, a register was kept of the tattoos, so that if/when you were found in bits, they could recognise you from the parts, rather like a jig-saw puzzle. Plus the fact that I have numerous scars from various surgical procedures and some are very large. I would love to have pristine un-blemished skin, with no scars. I just can't imagine having something permanent and huge etched on me especially if I had no scars to cover. As I say, it's only an observation, and I must say that's it's very luxurious being able to have the time to contemplate these things for a change.
Tonight's towel - 2 small swans, but floating in a sea of fresh petals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.