THE BIG MOMENT - TODAY!

Before we went to church this morning, I politely asked Mr. HCB if he would mind posing for a photograph to show how we look today as against how we looked almost 47 years ago, in the blip I published yesterday for TheBigMoment.

Well, I’m not saying he refused, but it took a bit of persuasion.  He was muttering about modelling fees, asked how many more photographs I intended taking, how much longer he had to smile etc etc so I just gently cajoled and told him that I don’t recall him saying that when we had photographs taken after we got married.  His response “Well, you weren’t blipping then, were you?”

Actually, we had some fun trying to find a good place to take the photograph, especially as I was, once again, taking selfies with my little Panasonic Lumix (thanks Yvonne for putting me on to this yesterday), as unlike the iPhone, you can’t see the photograph until you’ve actually taken it.  So after about 20 photographs I was told “Enough’s enough!” 

So, as I used to tell our boys when they were younger, I have done the best I could with the raw material I had - which Mr. HCB says is "a bit rough round the edges."

I am so thankful that we both have a good sense of humour - and as I may have said before, this has got us through many of the difficult times in our marriage and made the other times a lot of fun.

You are a star, Mr. HCB, and I wouldn’t have you any other way!  Thank you for the last 46 years and 339 days - I hope when we get to 47 years and beyond, we will still feel the same about each other and yes, if I had to choose, I would do it all again, with you!  

Live, so that when your children
think of fairness,
caring and integrity,
they think of you.
H. Jackson Brown Jr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.