Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Backdrop colors

Took this photo along our river walk here in Durango.  Since I am modeling Colorado on my N scale layout, I will wanted to color the rocks at my bridge scene with a correct color.  I took this because I think that it has the right color for me - it is real after all!  So I took this photo to the paint store and got paint that matches the grey-brown of the upper rocks.  Sort of a lightish  tan with a little gray mixed in.

This color will be used for the base color over all of the styrofoam - when the rock faces erode etc the eventual color of the earth is close to the original rock color.  Most of the paint will be covered up, but matching it to the rock has worked well for me in the past

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.