Happy to be inside...

...what on a day like this?
Those of you who've followed me for a while might be somewhat surprised by that title - so let me explain.
Today I was super honoured to be asked to be a keynote speaker to the NICAS (National Indoor Climbing Award Scheme) national conference. Since its inception this fantastic scheme has introduced over 150,000 children to the world of climbing - the current female world youth champion is a product of it - its now a given that future climbing superstars will emerge through its talent development strategy - but perhaps even more importantly - many many many children will be introduced to what is without a shadow of a doubt the best hobby you could imagine (ok I might be ever so slightly biased!).
Stood in front of a crowd all as passionate as me about passing on not just the physical skills of climbing movement but also empowerment & self belief - teamwork & responsibility - an awareness of others & yourself - well giving up a day out in glorious Snowdonia seemed the very very least I could do.
If you'll forgive the pun - climbing is on the up - and there's good reason why. Listening to the speaker before me confirm the latest Sport England statistic that 25% of children entering primary school are obese - it was astounding to find out that the figure rises to 33% by the time they leave.

A climbing wall is excellent excercise physically, emotionally & mentally - but it can also be a bridge to the outdoors - a place that statistics seem to tell us fewer and fewer children are venturing. Spending time with these coaches (from grass roots to Team GB), operators & educators today left me so inspired - I hope it can do the same for the children who come into their care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.