FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Seeing the light

This morning I attended the St Peter and St Paul Church in Charing village with my friend who now works in Youth Family Ministry for the Canterbury benefice.

I'm not a regular church go-er but I occasionally attend to support my friend and whenever I do I enjoy the hymns and a chance to reflect on themes and ideologies.

Today, nursing a bit of a hangover after birthday celebrations last night, I found it a bit of a hazy service. During the second hymn I noticed the morning light streaming through the stained glass window and thought how I could so easily have missed such a beautiful view had I stayed in bed.

I spent the rest of the day in the sunshine and cold at the airfield catching up with friends and enjoying the outdoors. The sun shone for most of the day and it made for a jovial atmosphere among us as we braced the crisp February air.

Despite the sunshine and smiles I spent some of the day quietly contemplating what may lie ahead for some friends of mine that seem to be stuck with a black cloud over them. I felt really sad thinking about their troubles and it reminded me that life isn't always filled with sunshine and clear skies and we have to face storms every now and again whether we like it or not.

I just hope that my friends stay strong and see through the black cloud to see the light ahead. In the meantime, I will do everything I can to bring them sunshine at every available opportunity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.