Chasing Mist and Light

If I dare say so, this looks much better large again. Click on the link and click on the image to zoom in further. 

It's been another unexpectedly fabulous day! The weather forecast for Ilkley didn't look too exciting, supposedly colder than yesterday, and grey. I had decided that it would be a good opportunity to work on the weekend's project, do some much needed chores around the house, and catch up with a few you wonderful folk here on blip (very long overdue). On TJ's good counsel, I popped out late morning for a short spin on the bike to loosen the legs and soon encountered some very low cloud rolling down the valley. A bit of mist gets me quite excited these days so I was tempted to cycle a bit further.

After being plunged into greyness I soon emerged into sunshine just past Bolton Abbey and thereafter enjoyed the most incredible light and skies, perhaps less pretty than yesterday but more dramatic, which I then proceeded to chase all afternoon! The atmospheric conditions were very strange. I've not seen anything quite like it before. The further north I went the less texture there was in the sky and less cloud around, until when I got to Kettlewell it was gone altogether. All was the most brilliant clear blue. When I turned around to return on the other side of the valley I could see the low cloud approaching from the west, hugging the hillsides opposite while I was bathed in sunlight. It was extraordinary. And in the distance I could see a huge lump of cloud which seemed to be sitting right over home. I believe it was too. As I passed Bolton Abbey I lost the sun and continued all the way home under grey skies. I suspect Ilkley was grey all afternoon - just as forecast.

I was going to keep my little project quiet, but there is no reason to really. On a whim a few weeks back I sent a few sample images for consideration to be included in a touring exhibition. I heard back last week that I've been shortlisted and have been asked to compile a full set. I've been trying to choose. And also trying to compile an Artist's Statement. That's proving a little difficult at the moment, and I need now to focus back on that. I haven't got long before the deadline for submission. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.