Get Naked

I passed this display outside a shop in town earlier. An interesting exhortation but I'm not sure that any of the suggested locations might be appropriate. Get Naked must be popular though because they had lots of signs with this invitation on display.

I was on my way to Specsavers to have my eyes tested and to buy new glasses. It's been a while so I was sure that I would need new glasses and sure enough the optician confirmed that I can't read small print with or without my current prescription. On the upside, my distance vision is now almost perfect - it has improved since the last test - the ageing process has fixed my eyes while the rest of me deteriorates. Two pairs of glasses ordered and they will be ready to collect in two weeks time - something to look forward to at least.

They asked if I wanted to take a three-minute hearing test too. You'll be pleased to know that I didn't miss the chance to say, loudly, "What?". Earphones on and press the screen when you can hear a tone in either ear. In reality it's testing the speed of the user's reflexes - anyone with arthritis in their hand might be assessed as deaf. I wasn't so that's all good.

The optician had studied in Manchester so we had a chat about the city and all that good stuff before I headed home. Having lived all over the UK and in Munich some folk can still detect that I'm not from round here - no idea how.

My neighbour called round last night and asked if I'd have a key and deal with a furniture delivery he was expecting today and I said that would be fine. Around midday there was a knock at the door and a charming chap from Leeds asked if I he could deliver the stuff. Three large and heavy boxes came off his van and we manoeuvred them into the house. I locked the door and we started doing the paperwork. 

"Oh" said my new friend "There's five-ninety to pay"  so I dug in my pocket and came out with a fiver and a pound coin. He looked at me as though I was a bit simple and said "No. £590.00". Without this payment my friend from Yorkshire would be insisting that the boxes came out again and went back on his van. I asked that he ring his office to check and when he came back to say that this was correct I rang my neighbour (who, incidentally, was a few hundred yards from where I did a bit of work last Friday but he was the right side of the wall). It seems that the supplier's website hadn't taken payment so neighbour rang them and gave his card details over the phone so it was all okay. Had it not been I was in the tricky position of (possibly) saying "Nope - not opening that door again to get the boxes out. Have a nice day", jumping in my motor and heading for the Mexican border to live under an assumed name until the heat had died down.

Otherwise a day of emails, text messages and some lovely phone calls catching up with friends. I also rang Cal to remind him to look for paid employment - a little ironic as I should also be looking for paid employment but just can't be faffed just now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.