Not a problem

I'm sure that none of you will remember that in January last year I discussed the dialogue my car and I are developing. Well today I was again nudged to replace a bulb and by checking this blip I know that it isn't the one we changed out a year ago. Today it was the left-hand side dip beam so that determined where I went to grab some milk and bread. Local geographers will know that Halfords is on the same trading estate as Sainsbury's so that's where I went to let one of their chappies do it for me and then to Sainsbury's where I learnt all sorts of exciting stuff, as I always do when I read product labels. My favourite remains Windolene which has "4 action system" and the very thought of that amount of action makes me tingle!

Now for a tiny rant de jour. You might be aware that last evening we were visited by Imogen. In response to high winds the Highways Agency closed the QE2 bridge at Dartford and although they had one side of the tunnel running from Essex to Kent there were, understandably, long delays - some folk are claiming that they were stuck for eight hours. The bridge was closed because wind-speeds were in excess of 60 MPH and gusting across the bridge, i.e. broadside to the traffic. And people are complaining. "It ruined my evening" was one of my favourite comments as were the many which blamed everyone from the government to the Highways Agency, Kent County Council and the folk who operate the bridge. Clearly being hit by another car or crushed by an HGV blown over on a narrow piece of road which is 200 feet above the river would be a better option than sitting in traffic. I happen to think that being killed to death would ruin my whole day but each to their own - what is wrong with people? Is it necessary to blame someone when anything goes wrong? What about some personal responsibility? Only people who had been living in a cave wouldn't have known that we were in the path of a storm and yet everyone piles out in the morning believing that they are somehow immune to weather events. How do people think the authorities should behave in these circumstances? Should they have allowed traffic to continue crossing the bridge regardless of the very real danger to anyone using it? Rant over

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.