The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

On top of the world

Here is Gus on top of the world, high above the white clouds (with just a hint of pink from the rising sun).  Well, maybe not quite the top of the world, but it is 522 feet above sea level on top of Arnside Knott.  Jens and Christina told me that if the Knott was in Denmark, it would be the third highest peak.  And Gus and I walk up there every day, and quite often twice (mind you, we do live about half way up it).  Today it was an island in an ocean of cloud, and I really didn't want to leave and go to work.

But I did and by lunchtime, the mist had retreated away from the Helm in Kendal, and it felt like a Spring day under blue skies as Sue and I walked up with Rowan (Gus was at home with his Mum).

And yes, Gus has turned into a bit of a poser.  He will do anything for a tasty treat, including leaping up here on the slippery stone, albeit reluctantly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.