The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

St Edith's

My established morning routine when I am staying in Bishop Wilton is to slip out of the sleeping household with Gus and walk up onto the "cliff" of the Wolds' escarpment.  Then work my way across to Worsendale, all the while looking down on the waking village and hoping to catch the sun rising above the scarp.

The morning mist enveloped the village and the cliff, though we could see blue sky not far above us.  As we walked the village below was gradually revealing as the fog thinned.  I heard my first skylark of the year singing as he rose invisible in the morning air, and then the wheezing call of a stock dove  (something I don't hear often at home).  Rooks and jackdaws where cawing and chacking as they flew from the trees and around the spire.

Then we saw the spire of St Edith's pointing heavenwards, the church surrounded by the sandy brick houses with their pan-tiled roofs.  The village is on the clays of the Vale of York, and the Wolds are of chalk - not much natural stone to build with.  The church was built with stone imported to the village.  The local history of the village has been extensively researched, and the much missed bwhere was responsible for much of that work (see here for the history of St Edith's written by Mrs Bwhere).  And of course St Edith's is where C became Wifie.

This could almost be a timeless scene but for the giveaway of the solar panels and the PVC windows, visible even through the mist.

We were in BW for a meeting of Wifie's 3 brothers, wives/partners and children - a half-term and rare gathering of the H clan.

This is a back blip on 3 March.  I've realised that I need to up my blipping rate or else I shall be well past 5 years of blipping before I post my 4th year blip!  So I shall be digging out a few unposted photos to fill a gap here and there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.