The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Monopodal

For all the photographs I have taken, I don't think I've become any more observant.  I'm intrigued by this robin, here he is in full song, fluffed up against the cold, and perfectly balanced.  It wasn't until I looked at the photos on the screen that I spotted he was missing a leg.  Perhaps I was too busy trying to focus on the eye to notice?  He was singing outside the office as Gus had his afternoon leg stretch.  Nearby, a rival male in an adjacent territory was echoing his song.

The song of the robin is the music of winter days and even nights.  But now they seem inspired by the brighter, colder weather after weeks of grey skies and rains.  In less than six weeks, the first returning summer visitors will be here.  The mornings are getting lighter, and the evenings shorter.  Spring is round the corner, and as the days and nights become warm, we shall be looking for reptilian stirrings in the garden. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.