The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Gruff Rhys - Ebbw Vale Institute

The first gig of 2015!

We met up with Gareth (ex-Clariant) and his wife Gemma to go an see Gruff Rhys (ex-Super Furry Animals) in Ebbw Vale (ex-Steel town!).

I had no idea what to expect. I've never really been into the Super Furry's, Gareth is a big fan, but I must confess they passed me by. I really love Gruff Rhys's solo album from last year. It made my top ten favourite albums of the year last year.

The wonderful sense of humour that comes across on the album really should have hinted at what was to come ...

I had no idea the album was a concept album based on this story.

This was not a mainstream gig, and it made a change to see something non Prog based ... I've always had a thing for alt-rock, with Carter USM being mentioned on here before. He played the whole album with a slide show story of John Evan's journey, with the songs interspersed along the way. It was great fun! I'm going to have to fill that back catalogue in now aren't I!

It was a late one home again, but a cracking way to start the gigging season off!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.