Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

White climber

And that's about all I can say in identifying this rose which is a real shame as I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a vigorous white, scented climber, modern but in the old style. I found this one at Chelsea Flower Show a few years ago and ordered it, then planted it in a pretty unaccessible spot that it's made its own, branching and falling through a conifer. My neighbour probably has the better of it on his side of the fence. So why has he cut it back on his side? Probably because he can. Does a plant have to be rooted in your soil and planted with your hands to appreciate it? I wouldn't have thought so.

I went with the dogs today to search out the swans that I mentioned here. Their eggs should have hatched last week. When I found their nest it was abandoned with three unopened eggs sitting there. A very large terrapin was basking on the nest which seemed odd. It must have been released in to the wild from someone's tank. I've seen others around that must have colonised the canal and ponds here.

I asked a few other dog walkers for news. Apparently four cygnets hatched and they're cruising on the canal somewhere with their parents. So not a bad result. Another blip mission beckons.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.