Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Summer poppies

Well still spring, of course, but it feels like summer today and I wanted to blip something that said "hot". Overlay the sound of buzzing insects and songbirds and you just about have it.

I know the experts say that midday is best avoided when taking photographs but I couldn't resist these flowers in the strong sunlight in our small front garden. I love the contrast of the pale blue of the iris against the day-glow orange of the oriental poppies and the green foliage, all given a pastel wash in the bright sunlight. It really is hot, hot, hot here just now.

Since posting this just after lunch I've noticed the date and have written a blog I thought I could never write. And I feel better about that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.