Bath time?

That was Young L's suggestion. When I thanked him and said that I hadn't thought before of shags having a bath, Mr H sternly told me that I hadn't thought of it, his brother had! I carefully acknowledged that; to both of them.

I had time to walk down by Lake Pupuke at lunch time today. I spotted this Kawau paka (Little Pied Shag) swimming on the surface. Got my camera ready in case it started to dive. I was startled when it suddenly lifted up to be almost out of the water and flapped its wings furiously. Over the next few minutes I got a number of photos from different angles as it repeatedly did this very vigorous waving of its wings into and out of the water. Occasionally there was a bit of preening between the flappings.

It looked like it wanted to fly and couldn't get lift off. 

I liked this angle best as it looks so fluffed up, with an extremely cross expression. 

It went around a corner out of sight, and I don't know what happened to it in the end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.