Dainty

Or at least so it is described on the NZ Birds Online site.. I was delighted to to see this solitary poaka (pied stilt) at the southend of Snells Beach this morning.

I had been privileged to witness one of the more dramatic sunrises, as I came around the waters edge from Algies Bay to Snells Beach, where I saw this bird, sharing the shallows with a red-billed gull nd a white-faced heron. Just the three of them.

The clouds went through a magnificent series of colours and shapes until the sun eventually rose in the east behind Scandrett Park. If I get time I may put one or two into blipfolio.

I was interested to note that the poaka are highly gregarious. Over the last couple of years, since being more alert to the presence of birds, I have seen a pair in this area of the shallows. Never more. This time, this bird was on its own. As the breeding season is long and can extend to February, it is possible that this is one parent foraging for food while the other parent minds the nest.

Back to Auckland this afternoon. Appointments and other work over the next three days than back to the beach as Friday is mother-in-law's 94th birthday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.