Coromandel

Another Sunday Sunrise. Five out of five for this year.

When I set off on my run this morning I seriously doubted that there would be any worthwhile sunrise to photograph. The cloud cover was almost total and appeared to be quite thick. The wind was low, and there was no rain. I hoped for a pleasant enough run to Whisper Cove. Which I got.

On the way back I saw that the sky had become red above Kawau Island. Only a very small patch. Which had faded markedly by the time I got the camera ready. Kept on going, and taking the occasional picture, hoping for something worthwhile. Finally, I got this picture. Cropped into a panorama view, by taking out the massive amount of grey cloud at the top of the photo.

The trees on the left are on Kawau Island, and the solitary tree at the edge of a cliff on the right is at the end of the wee peninsula on which our beach house sits Scandrett Regional Park. Between the two points can be seen the expanse of the Hauraki Gulf, and in the distance is the Coromandel Peninsula on the eastern side of the Gulf.

I really like the slightly misty quality of the light in this, due to there still being significant cloud between the newly risen sun and where I was on the edge of Snells Beach.

LATE CORRECTION
I was a little uncertain about my identification of the headland on the right in this photo. On my run this morning (Monday) I realised that what I had caught was the tip of Scandrett Regional Park, rather further away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.