Ripe for Restoration

We left Nelson today and headed down the west coast to Punakaiki. A great trip with fabulous views. I wish it was Thursday because there were so many great derelict scenes that I could have used. We stopped at Westport for lunch and then went on to see the seal colony at Cape Foulwind. There's a wonderful lighthouse there but we decided we couldn't stop to see either as we had shopping in the car (it's been a very hot day) as well as passports and valuables and there are those signs up. Maybe we'll get a chance to come back tomorrow although it's best part of an hours drive. Anyway we're at Punakaiki which is famouse for its pancake rocks and blowholes. We took a walk this afternoon, well after high tide and I've got some good shots but I'll leave that until tomorrow when I should be able to get better at high tide.

I went out this evening as the sun set and took some more pics. It was interesting to meet some real photographers with tripods and that stuff. One's batteries had gone flat and the other was taking pics of a young woman with the sunset behind her so I got one of those too.

I've given you a few sunsets this week so if you're desperate for another you'll have to take a look on Flickr. Today's blip is a line of old trucks that Marian spotted on the road in a farmer's field. They do love their old cars here in NZ and we've seen beautifully restored and hotrodded vehicles everywhere we've been. Maybe this farmer's waiting for the right price.

I hope you're having a good day. Thank you for all the stars, hearts and comments recently. My internet has been rubbish and it doesn't seem much better here I'm afraid but I'll do my best with replies and comments when I can.

David

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.