Where's my Dragon's Eggs?

It's been a rainbow day, a day of sunshine and showers. I didn't photograph them because I had other eggs to fry.

Porth Nanven is at the end of lane that meanders alongside the Cot stream and out onto the beach. It's famous for the large boulders known locally as Dragon's Eggs. I think they may be best photographed at a lower tide but they're also best in the afternoon, when the sun comes round this side. The little islands off shore are The Brisons.

I have to thank NickyR for information about these. She asked the other day if I'd seen the article by Ross Hoddinot about the Penwith area in Digital SLR Photography. I subscribe to the mag but of course it will be at home waiting for me. Nicky kindly sent me some pics of the article that I was able to read on my iPad. I'd seen images of this beach before and had thought I'd like to go there but I'd forgotten about the place until I saw the article and it's only a half hour drive from St. Ives.

My arrival coincided with a heavy rain shower but it soon began to blow over. I set off down the beach and it's quite difficult walking on these stones. I set up the tripod and immediately the rain started again. I tried wiping the filters before taking the shot but it was a bit frustrating so I took the filters off and put a lens hood on. Gradually the rain stopped again and I was treated to some sunshine giving a lovely glow to the bouders. I've put one extra in as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.