Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Reflection

I got a call this morning asking me to do a call out to Chepstow. The 'boss' told me that the Medical Assessment Unit at the newly built Ystrad Mynach Hospital, South Wales, is to close at 8pm every day. Therefore the night contract the company had will cease.

The calls out during the day have also dwindled. Luckily it's more a 'hobby' to me that pays for bits and pieces.

My wife's employers are not replacing staff when they leave and those left have to take over the work. This increases stress and lowers morale. Luckily, it looks as though they are going to grant her 'flexible retirement' whereby she gets a pension and reduces her hours. I feel for the younger element there, and know it's the same for the rest of the country. We're only half way through paying back the national debt. The bite will get worse!

Cardiff City are playing at home this evening. Even they have sold some of their good players. They have to reduce the £30 million a year players wages! How the other half live.

On the way back from Chepstow I found Mathern Fishing lakes. I've see it on the left just before approaching the Old Severn Crossing but never been there. I manged to find it. No one there. It was really peaceful. I liked the serenity of this swan gracefully gliding in the water making no ripples. The reflection is lovely. Much better than reflecting on the UK's problems!

For those interested, the pic is uncropped. The swan was 15 metres away. taken with Nikorr CX70-300 lens at 144mm (389mm in '35' equivalent).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.