Simply Me

By Suze981

Emboldened

Well, it's happened. Two weeks ago, my story was read aloud in class and it received praise.

Tonight my second story was read out. And you know what? They all bloody loved this one too. They said it was clever, it was funny, it was dark, it had tension - and they would read it. They liked it more than my first - this one was more in my dystopian niche - so perhaps that came through?

It has given me confidence. I know it's only a couple of short stories, but I feel like I'm a writer. It feels the same as when I realised I was a runner. I now write, ergo I am a writer. It makes me indescribably happy.

In other news, I've also entered my latest, (unread) story into a BBC radio 4 short story competition. I don't expect I'll get anywhere, but 5 short weeks ago I didn't even have the confidence to try. I feel emboldened.

This is the entrance to my class at the Edinburgh University buildings.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.