Bam!! The Wrong Side Of The Tracks

Someone was talking about the Pochard Hide the other day and I wasn't sure where it was. I consulted the map and could see it could be reached easily from the west side of the Lee Valley Park. Rather than use the A10, I drove to Turnford Brook via the route MrQ showed me when we were first married. We often had to drive through Turnford to visit Nursery Trades for sundries. In the heyday of the greenhouse industry Turnford was a sea of glass. Very little remains. The homes built by Joseph Rochford for his staff still stand.

The railway line marks the western extent of the reserve. Town meets country very abruptly on the other side of the bridge. I had a nice walk through Nightingale Wood to the hide. On the way back I met Bam, a lovely Bull Terrier, and his master who was filthy and had his boxers hanging out of the front crutch area of his trackies. We had so much in common. As we strolled back to our cars we talked dogs, children, photography, classic cars, Euro trips, diffs, UJs, muscle cars, V8s and wellies. :)   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.