Birds Of A Feather

Didn't get out until late today and it was very dull. I decided to walk to the Grand Weir Hide. It was a day for flocks. A nice big flock of whistling wigeon were feeding on some marshy ground near the path. The male ducks have lovely chestnut heads and yellow foreheads.

My next flock was of fieldfares. They and a little flock of pheasants were feeding in the stubble. When I approached the fieldfares joined a flock of noisy starlings in an oak tree.

The huge hide overlooking the weir was empty and there wasn't much to see. As I walked back geese were on the move. Flock after flock of greylag and Canada flew over. 

My pic is of the flock of jackdaws that congregate at the farm. They join hundreds more and fly to islands near the weir to roost.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.