horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Will it help pay the Wren-t?

Danger is my middle name. Tracer D Bullett. A private dick for hire. And trouble is brewing.

The message said Livingston. I presumed it was a dame, it always was, but this time there was a death involved. The name of my contact was Malone*, a man with an Irish brogue as supple as calves' leather, but the Englishman with him was running the show. He'd say jump, and we'd have to. Though he never said jump. But if he did.

Sam was by my side, an old hand, a steady hand, with a penchant for the dramatic. He would lead as we grilled the old man. He knew about the dame, we were sure of that, but he was ex-military, he knew the drill, and he had people. They made tea.

- - -

Who'd have thought after jacking in the job last year for an attempted career change in 2015 I'd wind up getting a paid tv acting gig. Half a day as an investigator for a Channel 5 documentary. Non-speaking, lots of walking and door knocking and sitting with a genuine 90 year old WWII Fleet Air Arm pilot. Lots of looking... investigatory. Fortunately there really was an old hand to follow the lead of, nice guy from Kilmarnock who is a River City and panto regular. I'm going to get back on the 'talent' website to see if there's anything else on the go. At least now I can add something into my acting experience section!

Don't think I need to wait till this airs in April before I can do that...

I do actually have some more potential telly work lined up, a local history type thang, presenting rather than acting, and that I certainly know I can do.

Fun day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.