Gallardia

I had not enough time to go home between appointments today, but more time than I needed to get from my Pilates class to the dermatologist today, so I went to Peet's. It is no substitute for our beloved Peet's in Berkeley, but it is a large store with a big patio and lots of indoor tables as well. Standing behind a young woman in line, I found myself trying to describe her in my head. She was wearing boots, leggings and a jacket, all in a variety of neutral dark colors. Her black stocking cap said "Led Zeppelin" on it and she was carrying a large plastic sword, which she held by the hilt like a walking stick. She kept it firmly pointed toward the ground, but seemed to be having trouble holding it still, tapping against the base of the counter in front of her.

She made me feel as if I was back in Berkeley again….

Although I hope that one rainstorm doth not a winter make, spring seems to be bursting forth in the garden. The daffodil bulbs that OilMan planted under the oak trees have burst forth with their cheerful yellow blooms, while the pink and green hellebores seem to be bowing their heads more than usual toward the ground. The rosemary is a profusion of blue flowers, some of them trailing all the way down the wall behind the patio to the ground, a height of about five feet. Blake seems to like rosemary even after falling off the wall whilst exploring them, and landing unharmed in a stand of canna lilies and emerging unphased to resume his explorations.

It was the gallardia growing in a pot which took the color prize today, however.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.